After college in 1997 I took up a managerial position in a Porcelain studio in Richmond, London. I worked there for use of the studio space. In my spare time I started painting on tiles and selling them to tile, bathroom and kitchen stores. I also painted on Bone China seconds from a table ware retailer called White World. I want to take that up again but now that company is not around.

I met my husband-to-be in this pottery, he had also been a student two years after I started at Central saint Martin’s, and after we had our son, decided to move to Weston-super-Mare, where his parents lived. This way we could open up a studio while having lovely grandparents looking after our son. My husband thought it a better idea if he produced my tableware so I could decide how I wanted it to look. Also, it was impossible then to have these painted plates and tiles in Galleries as I had not made the ceramics.

